Showing posts with label Word. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Word. Show all posts

Page Break in Microsoft Word

Normally, while using word to compose something, we use Enter to break a paragraph or to move the paragraph to the next page. We can use Page Break to break or to move the paragraph to the next page.
Insert Tab, Page Break
Insert Tab in Microsoft Word

Manual Page Break


Method I:

  1.  Press Ctrl + Enter to manually apply Page Break.

Method II:

  1. Place the cursor where you want to move the paragraph. 
  2. On the Insert tab, in the Pages group, click Page Break.

Prevent page breaks in the middle of a paragraph

Paragraph dialog box
Paragraph dialog box
  1. Select the paragraph that you want to prevent from breaking onto two pages.
  2. On the Page Layout tab, click the Paragraph Dialog Box Launcher, and then click the Line and Page Breaks tab.
  3. Select the Keep lines together check box.

Prevent page breaks between paragraphs

  1. Select the paragraphs that you want to keep together on a single page.
  2. On the Page Layout tab, click the Paragraph Dialog Box Launcher, and then click the Line and Page Breaks tab.
  3. Select the Keep with next check box.

Specify a page break before a paragraph

  1. Click the paragraph that you want to follow the page break.
  2. On the Page Layout tab, click the Paragraph Dialog Box Launcher, and then click the Line and Page Breaks tab.
  3. Select the Page break before check box.

The connected state of Office Add-ins registered in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE cannot be changed

You may receive this error if you try to enable an add-in in Microsoft Office tools (Word, PowerPoint, Excel and so on). To resolve this issue:
  1. Log on to your the computer as an administrator.
  2. Enable any disabled items in the screen given below.


    The connected state of Office Add-ins registered in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE cannot be changed 1

    The connected state of Office Add-ins registered in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE cannot be changed 2

    The connected state of Office Add-ins registered in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE cannot be changed 3
  3. Restart your computer.



Tips to Move Paragraph by Using Keyboard Shortcut in Microsoft Word

Tips to Move Paragraph
Tips to Move Paragraph

If you are dealing a lot with Microsoft Word in daily work, the tips mentioned here could be very useful for you. For a document writer or editor, moving a paragraph or any piece of information around the articles could be a tedious job. However, with these easy shortcut key solutions, you can save a lot of effort to be spent on more value added tasks.

There is simple keyboard shortcut key solutions to be discussed here. It is the way to move a whole paragraph up or down in the articles in simple steps. To accomplish this, just put your cursor anywhere in the paragraph and not even need to highlight the whole paragraph that you intend to move, just press and hold down the Shift+Alt+Up/Down key to move it to the desired location freely without hassle. Other than paragraph, the same method can be applied to move the table’s row up or down as you wish to.

How to Remove Section Break from a Word Document using Replace option

How to Remove Section Break from a Word Document 


Recently, I converted a PDF to Word document. In that Word document, where ever there is a footer or heater in PDF that are replaced by section break and page break. When trying to delete the same it a lot time and finally after lot research over this issue i came up with a solution. Which not only replaces/deletes the section and page break, it is used to delete graphics and other special characters.

Its too simple to replace/delete the section/page break.
  1. Enter Ctrl+H to open Find and Replace in Microsoft Word.
  2. Enter ^12 (for Section break) in the “Find what” box.
  3. Enter whatever you want to replace with (usually a space) in the “Replace with” box or leave blank to simply delete all the images.
  4. Click “Replace All.”
Thats it, all the section break got deleted.

To delete/replace:
Graphics                           (^g)
Tab spacing                      (^9)
Manual line break           (^11)
Column break                  (^14)

Hope this may help you a lot in replacing/deleting the Section break.

Related links:

Types of Styles in Microsoft Office Word

Types of Styles in Microsoft Office Word

Recently I had a research in Microsoft Office Word in Style formats and finally came up with Five basic style formats. These five different types of styles in Word includes paragraph, character, linked, table, and list, where each of them is for a different purpose.
  • Character Style formats only characters and not used in paragraphs. Any formatting can be stuffed into a character style. 
  • Paragraph Style contains any formatting done in paragraphs, indents, tabs, font, text size, attributes — as you name the style.  Even this paragraph style also includes Heading, Normal and so on formats.  The paragraph style formats all the standard paragraph or character formats, part of both, or just one aspect of either. 
  • List Style is for presenting lists of information such as bullets, numbers, indentation, and other formats typical for the parts of a document that present lists. 
  • Linked Style is a combination style that can be applied for both paragraphs and individual characters. The difference depends on which text is selected when apply the style for. 
  • Table Style is applied to tables for adding lines and shading to the table cells contents.

The paragraph style is widely used in the Word document by most of us for heading and body text.

Tips for using style format:

To apply a style format, Press Ctrl+Shift+S to view the Apply Style format pane.  



Related links:

How to Remove Section Break from a Word Document using Replace option